Outdated browser!
Your current browser is out of date and might not be able to display this website correctly. Please update your browser. Or click below to continue using the site.
Update browser
Sports, arts and activities

Learning to be leaders

ACG Strathallan student leaders have returned from three days at camp in the Hunua Ranges, facing challenges and taking part in activities to get to know each other and learn to work together.

It was a perfect opportunity for the 24 students to build a strong team spirit, said Careers and Administration Officer Jane Balchin, who organised the camp.

“It taught the group how to work together as a team, realise that there is always more than one solution to a problem and build camaraderie to produce the best outcome,” she explained.

Activities included a confidence course, rock wall climbing, a mud slide, tramping, performing at skits night and problem solving and group activities.

Student president Mckenzie Northcott said the highlight was the Burma trail on the final night.

“The most rewarding part was seeing everybody come together and look out for each other while walking in the dark. For me, it was a signal that we had bonded as a team. We were there for each other when the course got challenging, just like the support we’ll need throughout the year in leadership.”

She said the greatest challenge for the team lay in working out how to incorporate everyone’s strengths and weaknesses into the leadership team for 2018.

“Communication is key – even the best of leaders need a reliable team to achieve their goals.”

This year’s student leadership team is:

Student Council

President                  Mckenzie Northcott

Vice President         Flynn Fromont

Secretary                  Ronja Gallagher

Media                        Coralie Smith

Edmund Huang, Erin O’Mara, Joshua Sinclair, Mandy Pope, Jeonghyeok Park, Daniel Marshall, Emmy Jusakul, Zoe Allan, William Ford, Ryan O’Sullivan, Vincent Withers, Yogita Pal

House Leaders

Angus House Leader        Renee Wells

Angus House Deputy        Kiran Morar

Angus House Deputy        Sarah O’Callaghan

Batten House Leader       Matthew Rohloff

Batten House Deputy      Emma Payne

Batten House Deputy       Scarlet Billingham

McLaren House Leader   Nikita Horan

McLaren House Deputy    Rawiri Mahue

McLaren House Deputy    Neetu Singh

Wilkins House Leader       Tristan Penfold

Wilkins  House Deputy     Tonii Ruiterman

Wilkins House Deputy      Oliver Winter